Drunk vs sober

I was thinking of the many contrasts and thought I’d start a list that we can all add to. This should be fun.

  • Numb vs feeling
  • Embarrassed vs proud
  • Present vs absent
  • Dying vs living
  • Self centered vs loving
  • Head ache vs clear head
  • Red eyes vs clear eyes
  • Sad vs happy
  • Numb vs nervous
  • Buzzed vs natural high
  • Bloated vs slim
  • Way out of control vs very controlled
  • Stumbling vs waking
  • Terrible role model vs great role model
  • Anxious vs calm
  • Worried vs relaxed
  • DUI vs sober driving
  • Lazy vs fit
  • Fast food or no food vs cooking at home
  • Drinking vs painting
  • Hungover vs working out
  • In bed all day vs being an early riser
  • Self loathing vs blogging
  • Going to bed too drunk to do it vs self care at night
  • Passing out vs brushing my teeth and washing my face
  • Falling asleep fully dressed, shoes and all vs sleeping in my beautiful pjs
  • Puking on myself vs a nice end to the evening
  • Sleeping hugging the toilet vs sleeping in my very comfy bed hugging my hubby
  • Avoiding people vs facing them
  • Pounding head in bed vs early walks with Bowie at sunrise
  • Sitting drinking for 5 hours watching the sunset vs long bike rides at sunset (yes, I’m in Florida!)
  • Empty calories vs whole healthy food
  • “Oh shit where did I put that” vs organization
  • Waking up wondering what I did bad last night due to a blackout vs waking up feeling happy, calm and centered

This list could go on and on and on but on day 8 of loving my new life, these are the things that came to me this beautiful full moon early Saturday morning.

Please feel free to add to the list in the comments. I would love to hear your top comparisons!

Published by lisamarie2015

I just turned 50 and am ready to make 2020 the year of major change for myself and my family! I am a realtor, an artist and a fitness lover. I am ready to tackle some of those difficult things in life that seem to get put off and put off and see where this new road of focus and intention takes me.

2 thoughts on “Drunk vs sober

  1. Great list! I love waking up in the morning and feeling grateful for sobriety. My biggest are healthy vs unhealthy and present vs absent (or preoccupied/distracted).

    Like

  2. Excellent list. Isn’t it amazing that taking alcohol out of your life has so many positive implications? People don’t understand when I try to explain. Only when I read posts like these does it hit home what a poisonous and destructive thing it really is.
    Keep ‘em coming
    Hugs
    Claire xx

    Like

Leave a comment